About the Event

Cadastre and Land Registration are two essential mechanisms of modern 21st Century public administration for optimal land management. Whether for urban or rural purposes; planning or development; fiscal or reform goals, the use and application of the Cadastre and land registry will be useful and efficient as long as they are properly assembled to serve the State and its citizens.

In the case of Argentina, host country of this V Annual Conference of the Inter-American Cadastre and Land Registry Network, the Cadastre and Land Registration supply a crucial public administration tool. The National State has committed to assisting the provinces and the Autonomous City of Buenos Aires to determine the fiscal value of the property of their territories; a purpose that serves as mirror for the different sides of the life of the Cadastres and registries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

This V Annual Conference of the Inter-American Cadastre and Land Registry Network is hosted by the Federal Agency for Property Valuations of the National Ministry of Interior, Public Works and Housing (OFeVI) alongside the Federal Council of Cadastre (CFC). The thematic objectives of the conference will be "Valuation: interoperability and territorial administrative (national, state, municipal) considerations". The V Inter-American Day closes with the Annual Network Assembly, where the Cadastre and registry authorities of the member states make decisions about the Cadastre and registry regional work agenda for 2020 and choose their authorities. Also, there will be workshop day aimed to the local national public on Thursday, October 10, regarding the central theme of this fifth conference in the context of the efforts emerging from the creation by decree in October 2018 of the Federal Agency for Property Valuations (OFeVI).

This day meets the mandates established by the Member States of the Organization of American States (OAS) in 2019 during its 49th General Assembly, in Resolution AG/RES. 2931 (XLIX-O/19), chapter iii. "Strengthening of the cadastre and property registration in the Americas". Learn more about the 2015, 2016, 2017 and 2018 Inter-American Conferences here.

Our Network

The Inter-American Cadastre and Land Registry Network is an initiative of the countries of the Americas supported by the Organization of American States (OAS) as Technical Secretariat, the World Bank (WB), the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) and the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB). It was created as a systematic horizontal technical cooperation mechanism through which exchanges are promoted, multiplied, strengthened and energized in order to develop, spread and implement the best practices of Cadastre and Land Registry in the Americas.

The Network is composed of national government institutions with technical or administrative responsibility in the implementation of the Cadastre and Land Registry within each OAS Member State.

Its main goals are:
• to promote and generate opportunities for political and technical conversations on Cadastre and Registry;
• to promote the exchange of cadastral experiences and to support the creation of a specialized community;
• to contribute to the strengthening of South-South cooperation mechanisms between countries for the exchange of cadastral and registry solutions;
• to increase the awareness of authorities and decision makers on the strategic importance of the Cadastre;
• to promote the Cadastre as a government tool to achieve a more efficient and transparent public administration, economic and sustainable development, rural and urban land planning, land administration, natural disaster management and support of a technical and political agenda of cadastre and land registration in the Americas.

The Network is chaired by a Member Country alongside an Executive Committee formed by a Representative from each of the five Sub-regions (North and Central America, Caribbean, Andean Region and Mercosur). During 2018, the Network was chaired by Uruguay.

Click on the links below to learn more about the Network:

1st Annual Conference of the Inter-American Cadastre and Land Registry Network, Colombia, 2015

2nd Annual Conference of the Inter-American Cadastre and Land Registry Network, Panama, 2016

3rd Annual Conference of the Inter-American Cadastre and Land Registry Network, Uruguay, 2017

4th Annual Conference of the Inter-American Cadastre and Land Registry Network, Colombia, 2018

Host - About Argentina

The Republic of Argentina is located in the extreme South of the American continent. Argentina is the official name the country receives in the National Constitution, sanctioned in 1853.

Argentina’s territory has an area of 3,761,274 Km² with a varied landscape. Ice fields and arid zones live together, as mountains alternate with plain lands, fluvial courses or lacustrine areas connect with the oceanic amplitude and the steppe vegetation mixes up with forests and jungles.

Due to its extension --which corresponds to the American Continent, Antarctica and the southern islands-- Argentina leads the fourth place among the American countries (after Canada, the United States of America and the Federative Republic of Brazil) and the seventh worldwide.

It is bordered to the north by Bolivia and Paraguay; to the south by the Chile and the Atlantic Ocean; to the east by Brazil, Uruguay and the Atlantic Ocean; and to the west by Chile. Antarctica Argentina is between the meridians 25° and 74° West Longitude, south of the parallel 60° South.

In Argentina we find the four main climate types: warm, moderate, arid, and cold, all determined by the expanse latitude, altitude and features.

Federal Capital

The Autonomous City of Buenos Aires is the national capital. Bordered by the province of Buenos Aires, it has an area of 202 km² with 2,890,151 inhabitants.

Argentine People

With a population of 40,117,096 inhabitants, Argentina is considered a "melting pot of races" that defines its essence. The first settlers of the current territory were natives. With the arrival of the conquistadors in the 16th Century, the customs and values of the Spaniards blended in an enduring cultural encounter. The last important migratory flow took place in the second half of the 19th Century and the first half of the 20th Century. Fundamentally European in origin, these immigrants constitute another cornerstone of this true "melting pot".

Monetary unit

The official currency is the Peso (AR).

Official language: Spanish.


Argentina has a Representative, Republican and Federal form of government.

Representative because people are governed by elected authorities.

Republican because the representatives are elected by the people through vote and because there is a division of powers (Executive Branch, Legislative Branch and Judicial Branch) and a written Constitution is adopted.

Federal because the Provincial States keep their autonomy, regardless of being reunited under a common government (National Government).

About the Three Powers

The three Powers control each other to ensure the decentralization of power. It has a democratic regime and a presidential government.

The National Constitution was enacted in 1853 and reformed in 1860, 1898, 1957 and 1994. Voting is universal and compulsory from the age of 18.

About the Provincial States

The Republic of Argentina is a federal state made up of 23 Provinces and one Autonomous City.

Each province and the Autonomous City of Buenos Aires elects by direct suffrage its governors and legislators; likewise, the provincial states organize and support their administration of justice.

More information on Argentina:



Hotel NH Buenos Aires City

Bolívar 120, Autonomous City of Buenos Aires, Argentina